Trial and Retribution | TheVideo | Fantastique

Jon's Reviews > To Kill a Mockingbird

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read To Kill a Mockingbird.
Sign In »

Quotes Jon Liked

Harper Lee
“Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing.”
Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

Harper Lee
“Atticus, he was real nice."

"Most people are, Scout, when you finally see them.”
Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

Harper Lee
“I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you're licked before you begin, but you begin anyway and see it through no matter what.
- Atticus Finch”
Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

Harper Lee
“They're certainly entitled to think that, and they're entitled to full respect for their opinions... but before I can live with other folks I've got to live with myself. The one thing that doesn't abide by majority rule is a person's conscience.”
Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

Harper Lee
“Atticus said to Jem one day, "I’d rather you shot at tin cans in the backyard, but I know you’ll go after birds. Shoot all the blue jays you want, if you can hit ‘em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird." That was the only time I ever heard Atticus say it was a sin to do something, and I asked Miss Maudie about it. "Your father’s right," she said. "Mockingbirds don’t do one thing except make music for us to enjoy. They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corn cribs, they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us. That’s why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.”
Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

Harper Lee
“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view... Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.”
Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

Harper Lee
“The one thing that doesn't abide by majority rule is a person's conscience.”
Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird


Reading Progress

Started Reading
October 31, 2011 – Finished Reading
April 7, 2012 – Shelved
November 6, 2012 – Shelved as: classics
November 6, 2012 – Shelved as: favorites
November 6, 2012 – Shelved as: epic
November 6, 2012 – Shelved as: school
May 10, 2013 – Shelved as: thought-provoking
July 30, 2013 – Shelved as: coming-of-age
July 30, 2013 – Shelved as: southern-comfort

Comments (showing 1-42 of 42) (42 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Sriram Wish something comes closer to this one before I... you know what. :)


Julio Genao yes, mrs lincoln—but how was the play?


RoAr Greg, your tinfoil hat must have a wide brim.


Peters100 This story is largely autobiographical so is not exploiting anyone.
The confused cat worries me more, what a misleading title! Perhaps the book should have been titled 'To Kill a Mockingbird is a Sin'. That would be better for cats as they are amoral and wouldn't worry about the concept of sin, but the important thing is they won't expect tips on how to kill these critters.


message 5: by Karma (new)

Karma Gurung That's funny!


Tanner Strange I think this book could have had a different title because "To Kill a Mockingbird" is deceiving and makes it sound like a book on how to kill a physical mockingbird,not an innocent person. That's a pretty good meme too!


Charlie Nesbit I was thinking the same thing!!!


Olivia lol I just read this book in school but I'd heard of it for years before and that's exactly what I was expecting:)


message 10: by John (new) - rated it 4 stars

John Shim Very interesting.


Ashley Perez iyou have to see how they sa it they sayed it in a nother way


Morgan Victoria Johnson That's facts there isnt


Ashley Perez different people is the mockingbird!!!!!


message 14: by Joshua (new)

Joshua Adhikary I thought the exact same thing as the cat in the picture after reading this book. Not to say that it was a bad book. I like the story it teaches you that you shouldn't always believe the rumors or lies that are said about a person. Basically it`s saying don`t judge a book by it`s cover. Just like how the book is called "To Kill a Mockingbird" and isn't actually about killing birds.


Ashley Perez I know that mockingbird is a medaphore


Cheshire Cat [Heidi]~ We're All Mad Here ~ ALERT!!! ALERT!!!! BEE DO BEE DO BEE DO!! People, clear the area! WE HAVE A SPELLING ERROR HERE! Ashley, honey, it's a METAPHOR, not a MEDAPHORE.


Cheshire Cat [Heidi]~ We're All Mad Here ~ I thought it was the act of putting one's hand into one's face/forehead.


Dani  Dominguez People must recall that this book was written around the 40's and this is 2015!


kate murphy Hahaha


Zila_ShadowWolf lol, my thoughts exactly ;)


message 22: by Jessica Isabelle (new)

Jessica Isabelle Haha that funny


message 23: by Evelyn (new)

Evelyn Not even here on goodreads. You really have to ruin everything with those cats; if you like IT keep it to URself! DISGUSTING MONSTERS!


Bookaddict stuti oh come on , its just a joke. Laughing increases your life span


Jessaka that cat is so funny. thanks.


message 26: by Gina (new) - rated it 5 stars

Gina Flor Joshua, you're right on with your simple book resume. I actually saw the 1962 movie directed by Robert Mulligan first in the late 60s and later read the book. Both really touched me. Through a young adolescent, for me it wasn't all about black America in the South, I was living in Canada. Some of the commentators here have to get out of the "cage". Curiosity: There are various translations used in the Portuguese language, two of them
"O Sol é Para Todos" / "Na Sombra
e no Silêncio"


message 27: by T.L. (new) - rated it 5 stars

T.L. Jones funny, made me laugh


message 28: by [deleted user] (new)

why is this rating so popular??


Laasiya I actually hated the book


Annabel exactly my thoughts


Alexandria Marques I agree, to kill a mocking bird has one of those corny names to were you are wondering where it tells you how to kill a mocking bird. This book was fun to read and taught me more in a closer level how the 30s- were, especially for them and there weird tough circumstances. This will be in my top5 books and loved leaving a review for it.


message 32: by [deleted user] (new)

why somany likes!?


Nícolas Wildner And guess what? Brazilian Portuguese translation call it "O Sol Nasce para todos"(the sun rises for everyone) on its title. I want to know what kind of drugs the translators took to think that this would be a better title translation than "Matar uma Cotovia"(To Kill a Mockingbird)


Kasia LOOOOL


message 36: by Evelyn (new) - added it

Evelyn You didn't say anything much about the actual book. I loved it though!


message 38: by Pam (new) - rated it 5 stars

Pam This has to be the best or at least the funniest and most original review I've read. I love it and just wish I could have written it!


message 39: by Araa (new) - added it

Araa Hani hhhhh he is very hungry


Jithu Krishna Hilarious..:-D..


message 41: by star edition (new)

star edition extreme perfec


message 42: by Ashok (new)

Ashok Haahahahahah surely a classic


Click Here


back to top